Project Run & Play: Signature Style

*I’ve entered this look into a little contest over at Compagnie M’s blog. You can vote for me here. I’d appreciate it a whole bunch! Just click the little heart symbol!

This is it – the last week of Project Run & Play! I have enjoyed it immensely, although I haven’t done this much sewing since my tailor shop days! I love that I have cranked out some useful and versatile garments. This final week was all about our personal, signature style. As I was thinking through what I like and wear, and what I dress my kids in, I came up with this: classic, practical, with a little trendy mixed in.

DSC_0631

DSC_0703

I like to take classic pieces/patterns and make them my own. I rarely use a pattern as-is. Also, I like to upcycle other things to make new things :) This is how most of this look started out:

DSC_0070

DSC_0074

DSC_0077This skirt was bought specifically for remaking into a dress :)

I started with the coat. I used up every available inch from that polka dot skirt! In fact, I had to patch one pocket together because I just couldn’t squeak out a whole 5″ x 5″ square! I used the Downton Duffle pattern from Peekaboo Pattern Shop, but modified it to include a rounded yoke with gathering in the front and a pleat in the back.

DSC_0600DSC_0705

I made some piping and added that to the yoke and pocket flaps.

DSC_0813

DSC_0816

The lining is made from another skirt that I love! I knew it would be perfect since plaid is classic. I quilted the lining to a mid-weight felt interlining.

DSC_0700

DSC_0824

The hood is lined with a super cozy fleece. The sleeves were finished with a traditional lined-sleeve hem. 

DSC_0825

DSC_0604

Next I made a dress. I decided to go with a classic drop-waist style. I used the Mara blouse but lengthened it about 8 inches. Also, I combined the round yoke to make a one piece bodice. I used the continuous placket tutorial by Melly Sews to add the button placket. I didn’t like any of the buttons that I had, so I went with Kam Snaps instead. I LOVE the colour it adds!!! Then I made a casing and threaded a ribbon through to cinch it in at the waist.

DSC_0800

DSC_0803

I drafted a peter pan collar too :) I’m noticing that chambray is hard to photograph….it shows up as so many shades of blue!

DSC_0802

DSC_0692

DSC_0651

DSC_0650

….and then the bag. Last night I decided she needed something else to tie it all together. Also, she’s been such a trooper putting up with so many photos for me! I thought I’d whip up a little messenger-style bag. Well, “whip up” turned into three hours….anyway, it turned out cute, and she loves it :) It’s leather lined in a woven.

DSC_0807

I did a reverse applique for the initial on the front, and added a fun little vintage zipper too!

DSC_0812

DSC_0801

I think this outfit brings together everything I like: classic silhouettes, timeless fabric and versatile colours! Here are a BUNCH of outfit pictures.

DSC_0626

DSC_0634

DSC_0638

DSC_0720

DSC_0768

DSC_0731

DSC_0688

DSC_0690

She was digging for her rockets….gotta love a good bribe :) I hope you’ve enjoyed this past month as much as I have! Check out all the sewalong entries here!

Linked up at http://www.makeit-loveit.com/


63 Comments on “Project Run & Play: Signature Style”

  1. Deborah says:

    Beautifully sewn, just like the other outfits that you have submitted. The jacket is a very cute design, and I’ve always loved polka dots :)
    Deborah
    sewmuchtogive.blogspot.com

  2. Joy Candrian says:

    Amazing details, I love every component of your design.
    http://xoxograndma.blogspot.com/

  3. Wonderful work! You punched out some beautiful garments week after week! Congrats! I can see you being a featured competitor next time!

  4. Amazing! I love each little detail and how you made each pattern unique! I think my favorite is the polka dot jacket!

  5. Courtney says:

    Unbelievably cute! Love the jacket details and the cute bag. The bag itself would take me days. I can’t believe you sewed it up in 3 hours plus all the other stuff.

  6. Sweet!! LOVE the coat….and your photos are always phenomenal. Way to finish strong!!

  7. Anne S. says:

    Wow! That coat is beautiful! I am usually a quiet stalker on blogs, but I just HAD to tell you how much I love it! Well done! The rest of the outfit is lovely too. :)

    • I am so pleased with how the coat turned out. I had a vision in my mind, but making such revisions without any extra fabric had me wondering if I was being creative or going insane. Glad it worked!!

  8. Teri says:

    The whole look is wonderful! And congratulations on last week :)

  9. Karly Nelson says:

    I adore those different colored snaps, and the coat is just darling! I always have such a hard time making bags! LOVE yours!!

  10. Sally says:

    Love the whole look, but that bag is really darling and the initial is genius! Well done indeed…I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of you on PR&P, but in a more formal role, sometime in the future!

  11. dottedwhale says:

    Love it Sarah!!! She looks so happy in her new dress.
    And congratulations, you won the last challenge again!!

  12. Wow, this is awesome. I saw the Mara dress on the contest blog and I had to take a look at the rest of your blog. What a discovery!

  13. Such an adorable outfit! I love the polka dots and piping, the snaps, the bag…

  14. Jenya says:

    What a gorgeous outfit! I came visiting after falling in love with your Mara dress on Compagnie M’s contest blog :) You have my vote!

  15. patty shawver says:

    you are incredibally talented! you have my vote!

  16. Lisa says:

    You are crazy talented! Everything you do is lovely!

  17. erickmarnae says:

    Sarah, are you sure you’re not a contestant on PR&P??? Your outfits have been incredible every single week. Kudos to you!

  18. Wow, this whole look is amazing. Great work!

  19. Angela says:

    Another beautiful outfit. The details are great and so professionally done again.

  20. Amazing outfit. Love it! We made a simple bag this week for part of our submission and a drop waist dress too! Great minds think alike. http://skirtfixation.com/2014/02/t-shirt-dress-outfit/

  21. shino says:

    Wow, you are amazing! Gonna win another week for PR&P sewalong!?

  22. So great! I’ve loved seeing your Instagram peeks turn into these fabulous outfits throughout this season! I knew those polka dots were becoming fabulousness and your design certainly didn’t disappoint!

  23. Holy moly, that coat is just gorgeous! And that purse!

  24. Chelsea says:

    That coat is awesome! Great job!! She is such a cutie too!

  25. Teresa says:

    Wow…this whole outfit is awesome. I love the style, in fact, if it was my size I would wear every single piece!

  26. Mae says:

    Yep, I really hope I see you as a contestant in this here competition (in the near future) … you’ve done some simply amazing sewalong entries and this one tops them all. The details you add are lovely and I really like looking at your beautifully even stitching- <3!

  27. Froo & Boo says:

    Your style, fabric/colour choices, fit, design elements, polka dots (yay!!!) and practical sensibility with the fuzzy lining–all speak volumes to me!! I LOVE each piece and put together, it makes a beautiful outfit for your beautiful daughter!

  28. Kim says:

    The outfit and coat are pretty awesome. I now need that coat pattern. Love it all! Good job!

  29. So adorable and I love all the little details!

  30. […] from The Crazy Tailor made the dress, the coat AND the purse for her little girl.  And all from re-purposed […]

  31. Alisha Roberts says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog, and am absolutely in LOVE with this coat!! Do you have a pattern that u based it off of? I know you mentioned that you never stick to a pattern, but I have been searching everywhere for a pattern to make a coat like this! If you could give any additional info on how you created it, I would be forever grateful!! Great Job!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers